Measurement of Large Scale Bubbly Flows

Friday, March 24, 2017 - 2:30pm
3110 Etcheverry Hall
Professor Morteza Gharib

Department of Aerospace Engineering

California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA


E-201 Ocean Engineering Seminar Series, Spring 2017


2:00 - 2:30pm Beverages & Refreshments

2:30 - 4:00pm Seminar


An underwater imaging system to measure bubble dynamics in a volume was designed for use in the wake of a ship at sea. This system is based on defocusing DPIV (DDPIV), which can measure flows in three-components in a volume as they evolve in time. Because the system can image a large number of bubbles at once, it was possible to obtain useful bubble statistics with a small number of ship transits. After an overview of the techniques underlying DDPIV and its use in bubble measurements, the design of the ruggedized underwater version will be discussed.  Data from a field test on the R/V Athena will be presented, showing the efficacy of this system in measuring bubble properties in hydrodynamically relevant flows.


Professor Morteza Gharib is the Hans W. Liepmann Professor of Aeronautics and Bio-Inspired Engineering at Caltech, and was recently appointed as Director of the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories, having just completed a six-year term as Vice Provost for Research.


Professor Gharib’s research interests in conventional fluid dynamics include vortex dynamics, active and passive flow control, micro fluid dynamics, bio-inspired wind and hydro energy harvesting, as well as advanced flow-imaging diagnostics. His bio-mechanics and medical engineering research include cardiovascular fluid dynamics, aquatic breathing/propulsion, and development of medical devices such as heart valves, cardiovascular health monitoring and drug delivery systems.


Professor Gharib is the recipient of the 2016 G. I. Taylor Medal from the Society of Engineering Science and he received the American Physical Society’s Fluid Dynamics award in 2015. He’s a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering; and he’s a Fellow (Charter) of the National Academy of Inventors, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Physical Society, the American Society of Mechanical Engineering and the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering.


Hosted by: Prof. Simo Mäkiharju <>