ME Professor Ronald Yeung Receives OOAE-Division ASME Lifetime Achievement Award

Wednesday, August 03, 2016

ME Professor Ronald Yeung, from the department's Ocean Engineering Group, received the Ocean, Offshore & Arctic Engineering (OOAE) Division’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual Offshore Mechanics and Arctic Engineering (OMAE) conference. Professor Yeung was presented with an engraved plaque from OOAE/ASME during the OMAE2016-Busan Award Luncheon, on June 21, 2106. This prestigious honor is made “in grateful recognition of his significant life-time contributions to the fields of hydromechanics and ocean engineering as a distinguished scholar.” Professor Yeung is the inaugural faculty holder of the American Bureau of Shipping Endowed Chair in Ocean Engineering at UC Berkeley. In his acceptance speech, he acknowledged the many efforts of his collaborators and students during his 43-year professional career and briefly reflected on the essence and breadth of the field.


The OOAE  Division is the flagship division of ASME for promoting advances in ocean technology and its scientific support by academia and industry.  OOAE sponsors the popular annual conference of OMAE, with typically more than 1,000 attendees.


Congratulations, Professor Yeung!


A moment of happy reflection at the podium.


From Left: Qiuchen Guo (2014), Qian Zhong (2015), Nathan Tom (2013), Daewoong Son (2016), Alexia Aubault (2005), Prof. R.W. Yeung, Dominique Roddier (2000), Jangwhan Kim (1997), Chunfa Wu (1990), Antoine Peiffer (2008), X. Zhang (2015)


Acceptance speech to the OMAE attendees.