ME NEWS - 2012

ME NEWS - 2012

ME Professor Tarek Zohdi has been elected President of the United States Association for Computational Mechanics.


December 21, 2012

 ME Professor Francesco Borrelli is the 2012 recipient of the IEEE Control System Technology Award, which identifies outstanding contributions to control systems technology either in design and implementation or project management. Professor Borrelli was recognized for the design, implementation, and commercialization of the OnRAMP Design Suite for Powertrain Control.


December 17, 2012

 ME Professor Homayoon Kazerooni and his graduate and undergraduate students' recent work on exoskeleton research in the Berkeley Robotics & Human Engineering Laboratory is featured on Richard Hammond's BBC program, Miracles of Nature. Hammond is also the co-host of BBC's Top Gear.


Berkeley Robotics & Human Engineering Laboratory


December 1, 2012

ME Professor David Steigmann named next recipient of the Engineering Science Medal of the Society of Engineering Science.


November 13, 2012

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) announces the launch of its 2nd Annual Research Poster Competition open to undergraduates from around the world.


The deadline for this competition is October 29, 2012. For more details, see here and here.


October 25, 2012

Former ME Chair and Professor C.D. (Dan) Mote nominated for the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) presidency.


September 13, 2012

ME Professor Alice Agogino and Yao-Jung Wen win the Leon Gaster Award for Lighting Technology for their paper, Control of Wireless-Networked Lighting in Open-Plan Offices


September 11, 2012

ME senior Olivier Siegelaar and the Dutch men’s rowing team place fifth at the London Olympics.


September 5, 2012

ME Professor Xiang Zhang has received one of the highest honors bestowed on distinguished scholars by being elected to the Academia Sinica, the National Academy of the Republic of China.


August 6, 2012

ME Professor of the Graduate School George Leitmann receives a City of Berkeley Proclamation recognizing and honoring his personal and professional contributions.


August 6, 2012

Team Cal Simraceway, UC Berkeley's Formula SAE Team, Wraps Up 2012 Competition Season


July 20, 2012

ME Professor M. Reza Alam researches how water wave cloaking devices could protect ships.


July 10, 2012

The CalSol team prepares for the 2012 American Solar Challenge race starting in Rochester, New York, on July 14 and ending in Saint Paul, Minnesota, on July 21.


June 26, 2012

ME Professor Xiang Zhang's graduate student Junsuk Rho wins two scholarships: the 2012 SPIE award for high-level excellence and significant future achievement in optics and photonics  research and the 2012 Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association (KSEA) for exceptional contributions to nanoscience and nanotechnology.


June 26, 2012

DP Techonlogy Dedicates Research and Development Center to ME Professor Kazuo Yamazaki


June 11, 2012

ME Student Shop Helps Civil Engineering's Steel Bridge Team Win the 2012 National Steel Bridge Competition at Clemson University


June 4, 2012

ME Ph.D. student Yudong Ma wins the Chinese Ministry of Education's 2012 Award for Outstanding Students Abroad.


May 17, 2012

ME Chair David Dornfeld announces the appointment of Professor Ronald Yeung as American Bureau of Shipping Endowed Chair. "Professor Yeung is an outstanding member of the College and Berkeley campus community," said Dornfeld, "and we are thrilled to share this wonderful news."


May 11, 2012

The PikaPen Team, led by ME graduate student Evan Chang-Siu places third in Big Ideas competition.


May 9, 2012

ME Ph.D. student Ryan Shelby to be keynote speaker at The Graduate Minority Student Project's First Annual Graduation Celebration.


May 7, 2012

ME Masters of Engineering graduate students Grant Bischof and Nick Jenson's team wins first place in the Energy Efficient Technologies category of the 2012 Big Ideas@Berkeley competition.


May 4, 2012

ME's Shareena Samson, Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer, and Melissa Varian, Chair's Executive Assistant, win Chancellor's Outstanding Staff Awards


April 24, 2012

ME announces this year's departmental graduate and undergraduate award winners


April 24, 2012

ME Professor Xiang Zhang's graduate student Junsuk Rho was presented with the graduate student silver medal award at this year's Materials Research Society 2012 spring meeting in San Francisco. The award honors students who show promise for significant future achievement in materials science and whose research displays a high level of excellence. Rho's work is in indefinite metamaterials.


April 23, 2012

Leadership and Service Learning Improves Confidence of Engineering Skills in Women, a paper by ME Professor Lisa Pruitt and GSIs Jennifer Wang, Eli Patten, Ryan Shelby, and Farzana Ansari, has been selected to receive the 2012 Denice D. Denton Best Paper Award.


April 20, 2012

ME alumnus and current doctoral student Christopher Ategeka receives the Graduate Student Award for Civic Engagement, a 2012 Chancellor's Award for Public Service.


Read more about Christopher in Forefront

CA Bikes Uganda (CAB)

April 10, 2012

ME alumni Dominique Roddier and Christian Cermelli's Windfloat wins Renewable Energy World.Com's 2011 Excellence in Renewable Energy Innovation Award


March 21, 2012

ME graduate student Nancy Diaz is interviewed by Noticiero Univision in celebration of International Women's Day


March 12, 2012

ME Chair David Dornfeld discusses sustainable manufacturing and product efficiency at the Autodesk Sustainability Summit in San Franciso


March 6, 2012

Managing the New Product Development Process, a joint ME/Haas MBA course taught by ME Professor Alice Agogino, takes students from concept generation to prototype development in one semester. The EcoFridge, a product created and developed in the course by Agogino's students Daniel Talancon and Vince Romanin, was presented at this year's Autodesk Sustainability Summit


Talancon and Romanin discuss their Eco-Fridge (YouTube)


March 4, 2012

NanoKnife, the technology researched and developed by ME Professor Boris Rubinsky and used in the treatment of hard-to-reach tumors, is discussed on American Health Journal


Tampa Bay Times    |    ME Fall 2011 Alumni Newsletter


February 17, 2012

ME Chair David Dornfeld receives AMT's Charles F. Carter Jr. Advancing Manufacturing Award for contributing to the advancement of the manufacturing industry.


February 2, 2012

ME graduate students Thomas Libby and Evan Chang-Siu, members of the Center for Interdisciplinary Bio-inspiration in Education and Research lab (CiBER) and ME Professor Masayoshi Tomizuka's MSC lab, co-authored papers on the biomechanical principles of lizards and tailed robots featured in Nature and nominated for the best paper award at IROS 2011.


UC Berkeley News Center         |       Nature video


IEEE Spectrum       |       IEEE Xplore®Digital Library


The Washington Post


January 6, 2012

Professor Clayton Daniel Mote Jr. receives ASME Distinguished Engineering Achievement Award


January 2, 2012

ME News 2015
ME News 2014
ME News 2013
ME News 2011
ME News 2010
ME News 2001 - 2009