ME NEWS - 2010

Lisa Pruitt and students examine faulty hip and knee implants to improve design.


December 13, 2010

Ömer Savaş receives U.S. Geological Survey Director's Award for his contribution to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill response and exemplary service to the nation

December 2, 2010

ME senior Maha Haji's project, Interaction of Wave Engergy Devices and the Environment: Biofouling Concerns and Mooring Systems, wins best poster award at SACNAS conference

October 7, 2010

Mechanical Engineering shares #1 ranking by National Research Council in 2010

October 6, 2010

Roberto Horowitz receives 2010 DSCD Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Research Award

September 14, 2010

ME sophomore Spencer Wong leads team to second place at the Rube Goldberg Machine Contest

September 13, 2010

Success Through Failure, a memorial symposium honoring Professor Iain Finnie's life and many technical accomplishments, September 24 through September 26

September 7, 2010

Alice Agogino's ME110 Students Make Surfing Greener

August 26, 2010

Ronald Yeung and Co-Workers Win ASME/OMAE Ocean-Renewable-Energy Best Paper Award

August 25, 2010

David Steigmann elected Chair of the Society for Natural Philosophy and Fellow of the Society of Engineering Science

August 23, 2010

Dave Dornfeld awarded the ASME William T. Ennor Award

August 13, 2010
Xiang Zhang's
group develops Nano Optical Motor

August 9, 2010

Dave Dornfeld appointed Chair of Mechanical Engineering

July 23, 2010

Boris Rubinsky's work on the NanoKnife

July 21, 2010

Emeritus Professor Franklin Charles Hurlbut dies at age 90


July 6, 2010

Liwei Lin and team talk about the future of clothes

June 30, 2010

Lisa Pruitt and graduate students Eli Patten and Sara Atwood receive 2010 ASEE Best Paper Award

June 29, 2010

Ronald Yeung conferred honorary professorship at Harbin Engineering University

June 23, 2010

ME PhD Student Celeste Roschuni reports on 2010 AIDS LifeCycle

June 8, 2010

Tony Keaveny is the Winner of 2010 Van C Mow Medal

June 7, 2010

Van P. Carey is 2010 HP Innovation Research Program Award Winner

June 4, 2010

Acting Chair David Dornfeld has announced the appointment of Van Carey to the A. Richard Newton Chair in Engineering and Carlos Fernandez-Pello to the Almy C. Maynard and Agnes Offield Maynard Endowed Chair in the Department of Mechanical Engineering

June 2, 2010

James Casey named 2010 Pi Tau Sigma Professor

June 2, 2010

ME Grad Jason Valentine wins prestigious MRS Gold Graduate Student Award

June 2, 2010

Ömer Savaş and Flow Rate Group Provide Preliminary Best Estimate Of Oil Flowing from BP Oil Well
May 27, 2010

Albert P. Pisanoappointed to lead Operational Excellence Program Office

Daily Cal article on Pisano's appointment
(June 1, 2010)
May 27, 2010

LA Times features article on nanotechnology work done in Liwei Lin's lab
May 20, 2010

David B. Bogy awarded Berkeley Citation
May 18, 2010

Explosi-Divas is competing as finalists in the Staples Global EcoEasy Challenge
Update: Explosi-Divas shares First Prize!
April 21, 2010

Professor Liwei Lin's research on nanogenerators featured on KRON4 News and in Science Magazine
April 8, 2010

Work by Alice Agogino's students, Kimberly Lau and Maha Haji, is profiled in the current issue of Innovations
April 8, 2010

David A. Dornfeld elected Fellow of the School of Engineering at the University of Tokyo, Japan
March 8, 2010

Costas Grigoropoulos awarded continuation funding of DARPA grant
March 1, 2010

Albert P. Pisano named Columbia University 2009 Egleston Medalist for Distinguished Engineering Achievement
February 25, 2010

Professor Emeritus Erich G. Thomsen has died at 103
February 22, 2010

Zhang Xiang elected to National Academy of Engineering
February 17, 2010

New fiber nanogenerators could lead to electric clothing says Liwei Lin
February 12, 2010

ME 102, Hami Kazerooni's Mechatronics class, is featured in Berkeley Innovations
February 5, 2010

George Johnson has been named 2009 recipient of the Leon Henkin Citation
February 4, 2010

Professor Lydia Sohn's research on limb and organ regeneration has been awarded a $1 million grant from the W.M. Keck Foundation
January 27, 2010

ME PhD student Jessica Vechakul one of three Berkeley students stranded in Haiti
January 15, 2010



ME News 2011
ME News 2001 - 2009