ME Faculty List


Professor Tarek ZohdiProfessor Tarek I. Zohdi

Chancellor's Professor
Chair of the UCB Computational & Data
Science & Engineering Program,

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

6117 Etcheverry Hall, Mailstop 1740,
University of California at Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-1740

The easiest way to reach me is by email:

Links of possible interest:

Computational Particle Mechanics Journal
Discrete Element Group
Computational Mechanics Journal
Computational and Data Science and Engineering Program

Research Interests:

(1) Modeling and simulation of:                  

     (a) Advanced manufacturing processes
     (b) high-strength fabric
     (c) particulate/granular flows
     (d) multiphase/composite electromagnetic media
     (e) the dynamics of swarms

(2) Micro-structural/macro-property inverse problems-optimization and design of new materials

(3) Discrete Element, Finite Element and Finite Difference methods

Brief Biography:

Tarek I. Zohdi received his Ph.D. in 1997 in Computational and Applied  Mathematics  from the University  of Texas  at  Austin.   He  was a post-doctoral  fellow at  the  Technical  University  of Darmstadt  in Germany  from 1997 to  1998 and then  a lecturer  (C2- Oberingenieur) at the Gottfried Leibniz University of Hannover in Germany from 1998 to 2001, where he received  received  his  Habilitation  in General  Mechanics1.   In July 2001, he became an Assistant Professor  at  the  University  of California, Berkeley,  in the  Department  of Mechanical  Engineering. He was promoted  to  Associate  Professor  in July 2004 and to  Full  Professor  in July 2009. In July 2012, he was appointed  Chair of the  Designated  Emphasis  Program in Computational  Science  and Engineering (DE-CSE) at UC Berkeley.  Previously, he has served as Chair of the Engineering Science Program at UC Berkeley (2008-2012) and Vice-Chair for Instruction in the Department of Mechanical Engineering (2009-2012).  Effective July 1, 2014, he was appointed as a Chancellor’s Professor at UC Berkeley.  He also holds a Staff Scientist position at Lawrence Berkeley National Labs and an Adjunct Scientist position at the Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute.  His main research interests are  in micromechanical  material  design,  particulate  flow and the  mechanics  of high-strength  fabric, with emphasis on computational approaches for advanced manufacturing and nonconvex multiscale- multiphysics inverse problems, in particular addressing the important issue of how large numbers of micro-constituents interact to produce macroscale aggregate behavior.  He has published over 110 archival refereed journal papers and five books: (a) Introduction to computational micromechanics (T. Zohdi and P. Wriggers, Springer-Verlag), (b) An introduction to modeling and simulation of particulate flows (T. Zohdi, SIAM), (c) Electromagnetic properties of multiphase dielectrics:  a primer on modeling, theory  and computation  (T.  Zohdi, Springer-Verlag),  (d)  Dynamics  of charged  particulate  systems: modeling,  theory  and computation  (T.  Zohdi, Springer-Verlag)  and (e)  A finite  element  primer  for beginners-the basics (T. Zohdi, Springer-Verlag), as well as four handbook chapters, three encyclopedia chapters and three contributed book chapters.  In 2000, he received the Zienkiewicz Prize and Medal, which are awarded once every two years, to one post-graduate researcher under the age of 35, by The Institution of Civil Engineers in London, to commemorate the work of Professor O. C. Zienkiewicz, for research which contributes most to the field of numerical methods in engineering.  In 2002, he received the Best Paper of the Year 2001 Award in London, at the Lord’s Cricket Grounds, for a paper published in Engineering Computations, pertaining to modeling and simulation of the propagation of failure in particulate aggregates of material. In 2003, he received the Junior Achievement Award of the American Academy of Mechanics.  The award is given once a year, to one post-graduate researcher, to recognize outstanding research during the first decade of a professional career.  In 2008, he was elected Fellow of the  International  Association  for Computational  Mechanics  (IACM) and in 2009 he was elected Fellow of the United Stated Association for Computational Mechanics (USACM). The USACM is the primary computational mechanics organization in the United States and the International Association for Computational Mechanics is the primary international organization in this field.  In 2011, he was selected as ”Alumnus of the Year” by the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Louisiana State University (LSU), where he did his undergraduate studies.  He serves on the editorial advisory boards of ten international  journals.   Also,  he is an editor of the leading journal  Computational  Mechanics and co-founder and editor-in-chief of a new journal, Computational Particle Mechanics.  He is also an editor of a book series on Computational Mechanics, published by John-Wiley.  He has organized or co-organized three international state-of-the-art CISM workshops (International Centre For Mechanical Sciences in 2002, 2005 and 2010) located in the Palazzo del Torso in the center of Udine, Italy, which is  funded  by UNESCO, the  National  Research  Council of Italy  (CNR), the  International  Union for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) and the European Mechanics Society (EUROMECH). In 2007, he was co-chair of the Ninth United States National Congress for Computational Mechanics, which is the largest conference in the field in the United States, and one of the largest in the world. He was elected  President  of the  USACM  in 2012, and served  from 2012 to 2014. In 2009, he was elected to a six year term as a representative of the USACM on the General Council of the IACM, which is the governing committee of the primary international organization in his field of research. In 2014, he was appointed by the United States National Academy of Sciences and the National Research Council as a member of the United States National Committee for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (USNC/TAM) representing the United States Association for Computational Mechanics for a four year term.  In 2012, he was selected to be a plenary lecturer at the premier conference in his field, the 10th World Congress on Computational Mechanics (Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2012), as well as a plenary lecturer at the European Community of Computational Methods in Applied Sciences (ECCOMAS) Conference on Particle-Based Methods (Stuttgart, Germany, 2013). Overall, he has given more than 125 invited lectures at conferences, universities and other research institutions.

1Approximately one out of every twenty Ph.D holders in Germany is allowed to proceed with a Habilitation. It is the highest academic degree in Germany and is usually required to obtain the rank of full Professor there and in other parts of Europe.

‹ back to faculty listing